ChildCareGroup View Cart
ChildCareGroup About Us Contact Us
ChildCareGroup Parents Providers Donors Corporations Training
CCG Teaching Quote Text Providers
Donate Today!
Join Our Team!

a Texas Rising Star (TRS) provider is A Child Care Assistance provider who voluntarily meets criteria that exceeds the Texas Department of Family and Protective (DFPS) Child Care Licensing Minimum Standards.

The TRS criteria looks at the overall operation of the facility and the experiences provided for children while in care. The criteria includes meeting the following requirements:

  • Compliance with DFPS licensing
  • Qualifications for directors and caregivers in licensed child care centers and registered and licensed child care homes
  • Staff orientation for new employees
  • Staff training for licensed child care centers registered and licensed child care homes
  • Smaller than minimum standard group sizes
  • Written program goals and objectives for curriculum and activities
  • Positive caregiver/child interactions
  • Appropriate indoor and outdoor environments and materials
  • Focus on providing a healthy and safe environment
  • Offer nutritious meals and snacks and practice age appropriate meal time routines
  • Encourage parent involvement

The benefits to being a Texas Rising Star Provider include:

  • TRS providers offer a higher quality of care, which benefits children and families and may ultimately promote their program.

  • Child Protective Services (CPS) requires that CPS children be placed only with TRS providers.

  • TRS providers are eligible for higher reimbursement rates from CCA.

Providers interested in the TRS program should contact Provider Services at 214-905-3579 or click here to Email us for more information. If you are a CCA Provider and interested in becoming a Texas Rising Star Provider, click here.  

The four levels of certification for Texas Rising Star Providers are:

  • Four-Star: the highest level; provider meets the majority of the criteria and represents the highest quality in the TRS program. Certification is issued for three years.
  • Three-Star: provider meets many of the criteria, but sets goals to improve and move to next level. Certification is issued for two years.
  • Two-Star: provider does not meet enough of the criteria to be three-star but has the potential to meet three-star level within one year. Certification is issued for one year and plan is written outlining requirements to improve and move to the next level.
  • Deferred: provider does not meet enough of the criteria to be certified at any level. They are considered to be in the TRS program and have one year to reach a level of quality to be certified. A plan is written outlining requirements to improve and become certified.

back to top

©2007 ChildCareGroup Text Only Site Site Map Site Map Privacy / Legal